A glory story

The history of the team Motopark

The History - Timo Rumpfkeil founded Team Motopark in 1998 in Oschersleben, Germany. Rumpfkeil was a successful racing driver himself. His experience and his passion for racing are the backbone of Team Motopark’s success.

Right at the gate of Germany’s then youngest race track Motopark Oschersleben, which was opened in 1997, the team erected a workshop of 800 square metres. In 2009, the team base was extended by another 400 square metres.

The direct link to the circuit was the reason to originally brand the outfit Motopark Academy.

Rumpfkeil assembled a crew of dedicated, experienced and highy-knowledgeable engineers, technicians and mechanics. The team performed exceptionally well right from the beginning and continued to further build on ist strength.

The new outfit cut ist teeth in Formula Koenig, in 1999, a domestic beginners’ formula in Germany for young drivers graduating from karting. In 2001, Formula Renault 2.0 was added to the roster, followed by Formula Three in 2009. A year later, Team Motopark also joined the Porsche Supercup and the Formula Masters, a new beginners’ series.

When all these projects had ended in championship and/or race wins, Rumpfkeil stepped up to GP2 racing, the feeder series with races at most of the Formula One Grands Prix. Branded Russian Time, the crew won the teams’ title in it’s maiden GP2 year, 2013.

Extending the international arm into GP3 was well under way when a partner in Russian Time suddenly died at an untimely age in early 2014. Rumpfkeil thus had to abandon both GP2 and GP3 and focussed on domestic racing again, competing in the national Formula Three Cup and in the Formula Masters series.

After winning four titles in 2014, the team stepped up to the European Formula Three Championship and joined the brand new German Formula Four series in 2015.

Team Motopark is long regarded as one of the most successful teams and best breeding ground for young talents on their way into professional motorsports. The German equipe has won more than 200 races and collected 23 international championship titles. Many of today’s international Formula One, World Sportscar Endurance and DTM stars have played their part and learnt their trades in Team Motopark’s unique success story.

Roll of honours

To list all the victories and titles of Team Motopark and it’s drivers would require an own online database. To give you a brief idea, here is a glimpse of the major achievements listed by classes and categories

  • Formula 3 » 66 wins - 60 pole positions - 9 championships
  • Formula ADAC » 30 wins - 23 pole positions - 3 championships
  • Formula Renault » 96 wins - 91 pole positions - 8 championships
  • GP2 Series » 5 wins - 7 pole positions - 1 championship
  • Porsche » 6 Siege - 7 pole positions - 1 championship
  • Formula Koenig - 5 wins - 3 pole positions - 1 championship